What is a double dribble?

A <a href="https://www.wikiwhat.page/kavramlar/double%20dribble">double dribble</a> in basketball occurs when a player dribbles the ball with two hands simultaneously or stops dribbling and then starts dribbling again. It is a violation, resulting in a turnover and the opposing team gaining possession of the ball.

Essentially, once a player establishes their <a href="https://www.wikiwhat.page/kavramlar/dribbling">dribbling</a> motion, they must continue dribbling. If they hold the ball in their hands, even for a brief moment, the dribble is considered to have ended. Starting to dribble again constitutes a <a href="https://www.wikiwhat.page/kavramlar/second%20dribble">second dribble</a>, which is illegal.

There are a few nuances. For example, if a player fumbles the ball and accidentally touches it with both hands or briefly cradles it without intending to catch it, referees may use discretion. Also, accidentally bouncing the ball off another part of the body isn't necessarily a double dribble. However, intentionally stopping the dribble and then resuming is always a <a href="https://www.wikiwhat.page/kavramlar/double%20dribble">double dribble</a>.